Difficult Gratitude

James Altucher
2 min readJul 6, 2015

--

It’s easy (although we often forget) to be grateful for the simple things in life: a roof over our heads, health, love of close friends and family.

But inside every difficult problem, there is the tiny seeds of gratitude that can blossom into happiness in your life.

When given a death sentence (which we always live under but also often forget), being grateful for the next words you hear because they might be your last.

When stuck in traffic, being grateful to be living in such a magnificent place that everyone wants to be there.

When a child yells back, seeing the birth of independence of yet another unique personality beginning its private journey on this planet.

Counting gratitude to three is ok. To ten is better. To 100 is life-changing.

This passage in the photo comes from my book, “Choose Yourself”. I read it again this week. I usually forget what I write almost immediately (the thoughts have raced out of my head and onto the page) and have to reread.

I shut the book and I’m grateful that I wrote it.

The author also wrote about Why Gratitude is the Ultimate Miracle. Read more from the author… James Altucher, an entrepreneur, investor and best-selling author of “Choose Yourself” and “Choose Yourself Guide To Wealth”. He openly discusses the financial and emotional impact of making (and losing) money in his personal blog at JamesAltucher.com.

--

--

James Altucher

For some reason, I’ve turned myself inside out and all my guts have spilled onto my blog. One day I’ll run out of stuff but not yet. http://bit.ly/2blmiaG